Video:It’s a bloodbath as voters reject former MPs in chaotic second day of primaries

 At least 10 outgoing MPs were rejected by voters who opted for fresh faces as political parties started releasing results of the nominations.

For the second day, chaos, delays and confusion reigned as The National Alliance and United Republican Party conducted their nominations, which they had postponed due to logistical problems.

As the results trickled in, the outgoing MPs who lost in the nominations were assistant minister Calist Mwatela (Mwatate), Jakoyo Midiwo (Gem), David Were (Matungu), Isaac Muoki (Kitui South), Evans Akula (Khwisero), Victor Munyaka (Machakos Town), Erastus Mureithi (Ol Kalou), Daniel Mwoki (Mwala), David Koech (Mosop) and Itwiku Mbai (Masinga).

Other notable losers were former minister Mutua Katuku (Machakos, governor), former envoy to South Africa Tabitha Seii (Elgeyo-Marakwet, senate), former President Kibaki’s bodyguard Col (Rtd) Geoffrey Muturi (Mbeere South), and former Central Bank of Kenya deputy governor Jacinta Mwatela (Taita Taveta, governor).

Political careers of several other outgoing MPs were hanging by their finger nails by the time we went to press as results from various nomination centres were being announced.

In Taita Taveta, double political tragedy struck Mr Mwatela, the Education assistant minister, when he lost ODM’s Mwatate parliamentary seat ticket to Mr Andrew Mwadime and his wife, Jacinta Mwatela, lost the race for governor’s seat. Mr Mwadime garnered 3,480 votes against Mr Mwatela’s 1,408, with another contestant, Mr Anthony Mlambwa, getting 3,217 votes.

Mrs Mwatela, lost the ODM ticket for governor’s seat to former Kenya Petroleum Refineries Limited general manager John Mruttu. Mr Mruttu garnered 19,080 votes against Mrs Mwatela’s 16,503.
Finance assistant minister Oburu Oginga was the centre of controversy in Siaya County when he was declared winner of ODM’s senate ticket by returning officer Monica Amollo.

Ms Amollo announced that Dr Oginga garnered 62,232 votes against businessman William Oduol’s 35,198. Mr Oduol had earlier declared himself the winner with 99,992 votes against Dr Oginga’s 51,478.

Mr Oduol said he was not surprised that ODM declared Dr Oginga the winner, stating that he was prepared for it.

Confusion reigned

“I will make a major announcement tomorrow or the day after on my next move. I saw this coming and I was prepared for it.”

Confusion reigned as Ms Amollo disappeared from the tallying hall. She had initially invited journalists to meet her in Bondo for a press conference but later changed her mind and shifted the meeting to Siaya. Four hours later, she was yet to be traced.

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: