Bishop Wanjiru, Kosgei lose out on nominations

NAIROBI, Kenya Mar 21 – Former Starehe MP Bishop Margaret Wanjiru and ex-Aldai MP Sally Kosgei emerged the biggest losers as the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) gazetted the names of the nominees to the Senate and National Assembly.


Public Health Minister Beth Mugo, The National Alliance party (TNA) Chairman Johnson Sakaja, Assistant Ministers Oburu Odinga and Elizabeth Ongoro however made the cut to join the two Houses.

Others who benefited in the political party nominations filed in November include Isaac Mwaura, a human rights campaigner living with albinism and social scientist Zulekha Hassan Juma who made the list under the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM).

Kosgei, Bishop Wanjiru and TNA’s Director of Communications Machel Waikenda missed out on nominations as they were listed way below in the party list.

President-elect Uhuru Kenyatta and ODM leader Raila Odinga took the lion’s share of nominated MP slots in the National Assembly and Senate.

ODM, with 95 MPs, secured three parliamentary nominations. TNA, with 81, scooped three seats while URP with 63 MPs also got three seats.

The remaining three slots will be shared between Vice President Kalonzo Musyoka’s Wiper, Deputy Prime Minister Musalia Mudavadi’s United Democratic Forum and Moses Wetangula’s Ford-Kenya.

Consequently, the CORD’s presidential candidate’s elder brother, Oburu Odinga and Beth Mugo, Kenyatta’s cousin are set to make it to Parliament and the Senate respectively after they were listed as number one picks on the party lists.

The former Bondo MP was embroiled in an acrimonious fight for the ODM’s ticket for the Siaya Governor’s seat with politician William Oduol.

Oburu was, however, forced out of the race but Oduol preferred to vie on a National Agenda Party of Kenya (NAP-K) ticket but still lost to ODM’s Cornel Rasanga in the March 4 polls.

Sakaja and self proclaimed career nominated MP Amina Abdalla and Janet Mararia Teiyaa were nominated from the TNA list.

Abdalla, has been nominated for a record third term. She made her parliamentary debut in 2003 after KANU nominated her. She was again nominated by the independence party in 2008.

Teiyaa is expected to represent people with disabilities.

Ruto’s URP has nominated Korere Sara Paulata, who comes from a marginalised community, Abdi Noor Mohammed Ali and Sunjeev Birdi.

Wiper has Bishop Robert Mutemi Mutua while Ford-Kenya nominated Patrick Wangamati.

UDF Chairman Hassan Aden Osman has also been nominated to the National Assembly.

In the Senate, Mugo, ODM Executive-Director Janet Ongera and Nairobi Metropolitan Assistant Minister Elizabeth Ongoro lead the names of women to make their debut in the new House after securing nomination as women nominated members.

The former Dagoretti MP had pulled out of the Nairobi Senate race citing health reasons.

ODM is entitled to four of the 16 seats in the Senate. TNA has four slots, URP with 11 Senators has three while Ford-K, UDF, Wiper, APK and KANU have one each.

In the Senate, ODM has Ongera, Ongoro, Halima Abdille Mohamud and Agnes Nzani. TNA nominated Mugo, Emma Mbura Gertrude, journalists Naisula Lesuuda and Joy Adhiambo Gwendo.

Kanainza Nyongesa Daisy (ODM) and Hosea Onchwangi (TNA) will represent the youth and Linet Kemunto Nyakeriga (TNA) and Harold Kimunge Kipchumba (ODM) to represent the disabled.

Alliance Party of Kenya Executive Director Beatrice Elachi, Ford-K’s Catherine Mukite Nobwola and city advocate Judith Achieng Sijeny of Wiper will also be making their debut in the Senate.

Martha Wangari will represent UDF in the Senate.

KANU has also nominated former Maendeleo ya Wanawake Chair Zipporah Kittony to sit in the Senate.

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.