CORD recalls nominees to IEBC joint committee over composition


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The Coalition for Reforms and Democracy (CORD) has recalled its list of seven nominees to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Joint Parliamentary Select Committee over disagreement on the team’s composition.

CORD leader Raila Odinga has asked that the list be recalled so that the opposition team can review it and send a fresh list Thursday afternoon so that majority leaders in both chambers of Parliament can file a notice of motion on the IEBC talks.

This comes after a stormy House Business Committee meeting Tuesday evening where the motion on IEBC was submitted for inclusion in the Order Paper of the Senate and the National Assembly.

CORD leaders differed on the composition of the select committee, with leaders drawn from the Wiper and Ford Kenya parties insisting the list was skewed and not gender sensitive.

Ford Kenya insisted on Kakamega Senator Bonny Khalwale taking the slot declined by Prof. Hellen Sambili while CORD women MPs on the other hand insisted the slot belongs to them as women and as such, Sambili’s replacement must be a woman.

CORD had nominated Mombasa Women Representative Mishi Mboko, Siaya Senator James Orengo, Makueni Senator Mutula Kilonzo Jr, Tongaren MP Dr Eseli Simiyu, Suna East MP Junet Mohamed and Machakos Senator Johnstone Muthama.

Tuesday  evening’s list had indicated Dr. Bonny Khalwale as Prof. Sambili’s replacement.

There is also a complaint among CORD MPs that the list has four Senators and three National Assembly members.

They want the list to have four National Assembly members and three Senators.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More