Cooperative Development Minister Nyagah ditches ODM for TNA

KENYA: Three luminaries in the Jubilee Alliance put a show of unity ahead of their Presidential nominations this week buoyed by the defection of ODM minister Joseph Nyagah.

Deputy Prime Ministers Uhuru Kenyatta, Musalia Mudavadi and Eldoret North MP William Ruto pledged to remain united and nominate their candidate in a non-acrimonious manner.

- Advertisement -

Ruto said that they met in the morning yesterday and agreed how they would pick their flag bearer even as reports indicated that the leaders were reading from different scripts.

However, Mudavadi who is said to be pushing for a consensus instead of the delegates system preferred by his two coalition partners steered clear of the planned nomination exercise.

“This morning we have agreed on a process that is going to give us a presidential candidate in a non-acrimonious way. A way that is going to unify this country and bring all the communities and religions together,” said the Eldoret North lawmaker.

Ruto said that they would conclude the issue of presidential nominations this week then embark on their grand journey of forming the next Government.

The three leaders spoke when they received Cooperative Development Minister and former ODM Pentagon Member Joe Nyaga in Nairobi’s Jeevanjee Gardens.

Nyaga who is also an ODM nominated MP ditched Prime Minister Raila Odinga and joined Uhuru’s The National Alliance (TNA).

Speaking during the forum yesterday, the Minister maintained that he had never made political mistakes in his political career.

Nyaga said that the Jubilee Alliance would triumph in next year’s polls saying it has the face of all Kenyans.

“I have never made political mistakes and I am sure the Jubilee Alliance would form the next Government,” he insisted.

Ruto enumerated former Pentagon Members who had ditched Raila and declared that their team was the Government in the making.

“Out of the six Pentagon members who were in the ODM Party. Five have come to Jubilee. Even if you are poor in calculations, you must know realise where the country is going,” he noted.

“Next year without doubt, the next Government would be a Jubilee Government by the Jubilee generation in the Jubilee year,”

He maintained that they have come together not for selfish reasons but to propel the economy of the nation adding that their Coalition believes in reconciliation and cohesion.

Among Pentagon members who have ditched the PM include Ruto, Mudavadi, Nyaga, Water Minister Charity Ngilu and Mvita MP Najib Balala.

And despite recent opinion polls indicating that Raila would beat the Jubilee coalition, Mudavadi insisted that their coalition would win the election in the first round..

“This time round we are saying; its 90 minutes, no extra time. We finish so that the Jubilee coalition proceed with the work,” said the UDF flag bearer.

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: