Ruto defends parastatal heads appointment


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

NAIROBI, Kenya, Dec 29 – Deputy President William Ruto has defended Friday’s appointment of 26 chairmen of the parastatals by President Uhuru Kenyatta saying that they reflects face and nature of the Kenya society.

Speaking in Kwale, Ruto said the appointments which take effect on January 14, 2014 has 70 percent of young people.

The appointment of 26 chairmen of the newly created parastatals by President Uhuru Kenyatta has elicited angry reactions from members of his Jubilee Alliance, with some MPs termed the appointment whose beneficiaries were mainly politicians, some of them rejected at the ballot in March, as skewed and representative of the “old order”.

MPs for Meru region lead by Igembe South MP Mithika Linturi and Tharaka Nithi MP Kareke Mbiuki expressed outrage over the appointment of former civil service chief Francis Muthaura as the chairman of the Lamu Port and South Sudan Ethiopia Transport (LAPSSET) Corridor Development Authority.

Linturi who is also Meru Parliamentary Group Chairman has called a meeting of all lawmakers from the county to review their relationship with the Jubilee government following the “recycling of retirees” to key parastatal jobs.

Mbiuki said he was extremely disappointed by the appointment of the chairmen who were octogenarians when Jubilee Coalition romped into power with the aim of bringing into government fresh blood.

But the Deputy President moved to assure the MPs that the future appointments will ensure the youth are the majority.

“The President and his Deputy had gone against their pledge to give priority to you people that commitment still stands.”

Ruto who was responding to MPs who had earlier spoken in opposition to the appointment dismissed critics questioning the former civil service boss return to the government saying, ‘they’re the same ones who wanted another old man (Raila) voted.’

“It is ironical that MPs who are opposed to Muthaura’s appointment overwhelming voted for (Opposition Leader) Raila who is an age mate,” said Ruto.

Former MPs allied to Lands Cabinet Secretary Charity Ngilu also won big in the new appointments with Phillip Kaloki being appointed Chairperson of the Kenya Medical Training College and Agnes Ndetei clinching an appointment as Chairperson of the National Drought Management Authority.

Linah Jebii Kilimo whose Jebii Kilimo Foundation focuses its efforts on bringing an end to Female Genital Mutilation in the North Rift was appointed to chair the newly formed Anti-Female Genital Mutilation Board.

The National Alliance (TNA) Secretary General Onyango Oloo was not left out of the appointments either and secured an appointment as Chairperson of the Lake Basin Development Authority.

A few private sector names also made the list including Mt. Kenya University founder Simon Gicharu who will chair the Geothermal Development Company and Daniel Kiongo who is a founder of Thika Greens Limited.

Below is a full list of the appointments:
1. Titus Ibui – Kenya Leather Development Council Board
2. Simon Gicharu – Geothermal Development Company
3. Kenneth Sigilai – Kenya Electricity Transmission Company (KETRACO)
4. Daniel Kiongo – Kenya Pipeline Company
5. Eliud Wamae – New Kenya Co-operative Creameries
6. Geoffrey Kingangi (COL.) – National Cereals and Produce Board
7. Taraiya Ole Kores – Kenya Meat Commission
8. Linah Jebii Kilimo – Anti-Female Genital Mutilation Board
9. Terry Ryan – Kenya National Bureau of Statistics
10. Benson Adeng – Consolidated Bank Board of Directors
11. Mohamud Mohammed Ali – National Hospital Insurance Fund Board
12. Agnes Ndetei – National Drought Management Authority
13. Phillip Kaloki – Kenya Medical Training College Board
14. Sam Kona – Kerio Valley Development Authority
15. Peter Kiilu – Water Resource Management Authority
16. Onyango Oloo – Lake Basin Development Authority
17. Julius Kones – National Water Conservation and Pipeline Corporation
18. Abdul Bahari — Tana and Athi Rivers Development Authority
19. Kitambi Digore – Kenya Maritime Authority
20. Amb. Francis Muthaura – LAPSSET Corridor Development Authority
21. Joseph Musebe – Kenya Broadcasting Corporation
22. Sammy Tangus – Postal Corporation of Kenya
23. Edwin Yinda – Kenya Information and Communications Board of Directors
24. Sam Njonde – National Sports Fund Board of Trustees

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More