More trouble in ODM as third list of Homa Bay officials emerges

The ODM standoff over Homa Bay branch officials has resulted in three factions.

A third list naming former Karachuonyo sub branch head Tom Dola as the new branch chairman has emerged.

The ODM executive will intervene in the matter, said party National chairman John Mbadi.

“The party’s top leadership will get the report and make a decision after thorough discussion,” he told the Star on phone on Wednesday.

“We are surprised by the outcome of the exercise we expected to be the unifying factor.”

Two lists of officials were submitted to Acting Executive director Joshua Kawino following two meetings on Saturday.

One named county women’s rep Gladys Wanga as chairperson and Kwabwai ward rep Richard Ogindo as the vice chairperson.

Kasipul MP Oyugi Magwanga was listed as the secretary succeeding Karachuonyo MP James Rege.

The other declared former Rangwe MP Martin Ogindo chairman, Charles Were vice chairman and Rege secretary.

The third list had Oscar Obote as vice chairman and Magwanga as secretary.

It named Kabondo Kasipul MP Silvanus Osele as deputy secretary and Homa Bay Deputy Governor Hamilton Orata as treasurer.

When contacted, Wanga said her list contains the bona fide names.

“We followed the party rules and I know we’re the genuine and duly elected branch officials,” Wanga said.

She said the list will be merged with the one naming Dola chairman.



- Advertisement -

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: