Nasa plot to scuttle naming of Uhuru Cabinet


The National Super Alliance will not submit its list of members to the Committee of Appointment of the National Assembly, Leader of Minority John Mbadi said Wednesday.

The committee is chaired by the Speaker and is responsible for vetting of Cabinet secretaries as and when they are nominated for appointment by the President.

The latest development has an impact on the possibility of President Uhuru Kenyatta reorganising his Cabinet including the appointment of new CSs, following his re-election.

The Suba South MP and ODM national chairman said Nasa’s move was informed by its Maanzoni Declaration, made in Machakos County on Friday after a meeting of the coalition’s leadership that resolved not to recognise the Kenyatta presidency.

“We do not want to be party to the appointment of CSs because we do not recognise the election of President Uhuru Kenyatta as President,” Mr Mbadi told Nation.

“This is the reason why we will not participate in the formation of this committee and the possibility of vetting his CSs.”

However, Mr Mbadi confirmed that the Opposition will submit its representatives to the other House committees — Housekeeping, watchdog and departmental.

The Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act stipulates that nominees for CS must be vetted by the National Assembly before the President formerly appoints them.

Mr Mbadi, who deputises the Leader of Majority, Mr Aden Duale (Jubilee Party), in the Committee on Selection, which oversees the formation of other committees, said the final list to the House committees will be submitted by today.

The coalition was expected to go on a retreat Wednesday to finalise the committees’ list.

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More