Facebook-owned WhatsApp, which boasts two billion active users, is sending users a pop-up asking them to agree to share data with Facebook.
However, the pop-up message makes it clear that agreeing to this is compulsory if people want to keep using the free app – and you will lose access to your account if you do not agree after February 8.
Many users have seen the pop-up message and clicked the ‘agree’ button without reading the terms in the small print.
One of the messages which have been appearing on Android phones and iPhones look slightly different depending on what device you have but both contain the same message
WhatsApp is part of Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg’s social media empire, which also includes Instagram, and these changes are being made to help it integrate better with other services offered by the dominant force.
It is believed Zuckerberg is looking to take steps towards eventually integrating his three massive social media platforms into one.
WhatsApp users have been received pop-up messages over the past 24 hours.
They detail the changes and provide the user with the option of clicking on an ‘agree’ button or choosing the ‘not now’ button.
However, a closer look at the small print shows that February 8 is the cut-off point after which you will lose access to your account if you do not agree.
Meanwhile, WhatsApp has opened up about how collects and handles users’ data.
In a bid to become more transparent, it has published new sections on its website.
They include a section titled ‘Transactions and Payments Data’ and another detailing how it handles ‘Location Information’.
Another carries a section ‘What information does WhatsApp share with the Facebook Companies?’.
It reads: “WhatsApp currently shares certain categories of information with Facebook Companies.
Another addition to the new updates policy hints that users may from time to time receive marketing material about Facebook Companies.
WhatsApp is an ‘encrypted’ app.
It’s ‘end-to-end encryption’ is supposed to ensure only you and the person you’re communicating with can read or listen to what is sent, and nobody in between, not even WhatsApp, can read or listen to what you write.