Big names make political comeback in Kenyan elections

NAIROBI, Kenya, Mar 6 – Cabinet ministers John Munyes, Kiraitu Murungi, Anyang’ Nyong’o and former MPs Nderitu Gachagua, Boni Khalwale and Mutahi Kagwe are among big names who have secured a seat in the Senate following Monday’s election.


Former Ikolomani MP Khalwale floored Federal Party of Kenya leader Cyrus Jirongo. Khalwale who is fondly referred to as the bullfighter won after polling 248,888 votes against Jirongo’s 145,736.

Labour Minister and Ford- Kenya chairman John Munyes emerged victorious in the Turkana County senatorial race beating URP’s Ekwe Ethuro.

Medical Service Minister Anyang’ Nyong’o scored 320,849 votes to secure the Kisumu senatorial seat, Nyong’o was trailed by TNA’s Alice Aoko who got 8,202.

Moi University law lecturer Kipchumba Murkomen (URP) benefited from the URP wave in the North Rift to secure Elgeyo-Marakwet senate seat against former cabinet minister Nicholas Biwott.

Murkomen polled 87,658 votes while the National Vision Party leader managed 24,377 votes.

Still in the Rift Valley, former ruling party Kanu reaped big in the election as their candidates staged upsets as Gideon Moi, Nick Salat and former PS John Lonyangapuo clinched the Baringo, Bomet and West Pokot senatorial seats respectively.

The KANU chairman led with 95,678 to Kosgey 21,101 results from 5 of 6 constituencies, when URP’s bishop Jackson Kosgey conceded defeat in Baringo senator race.

Lonyangapuo defeated Information and Communication Minister Samuel Poghisio of URP.

In Busia County, former Attorney General Amos Wako (ODM) is still leading in the senate race against former Nambale MP Chris Okemo (Ford Kenya).

In Mombasa, Jubilee luminary Najib Balala and Wiper gubernatorial candidate Shaban Shahbal protested results indicating Hassan Omar and ODM governor candidate Hassan Joho are in the lead by a huge margin. They said they are now planning to go to court.

Former Belgut MP Charles Keter (URP) has also been elected Kericho county senator beating Paul Sang (KANU).

Mutahi Kagwe (Narc) went against the TNA wave in Central to defeat former Mathira MP Ephraim Maina to be declared Nyeri Senate seat winner.

TNA’s Peter Mositet garnered 145,703 votes to win the Kajiado County Senate seat against GNU’s Peter ole Nkeri who scored 69,574 and Wiper’s Simon Kinyanjui got 45,054.

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.