Tuesday, July 23, 2024

Kenyans Nominate 10 most Favourite MPs in 2014

Kenyans Nominate 10 most Favourite MPs in 2014
Kenyans Nominate 10 most Favourite MPs in 2014

Ten Members of Parliament have been nominated as favourite leaders in 2014.

Through online voting, Kenyans nominated their favourite MP in 10 different categories, with three nominees initially in each category.

The parliamentarians were selected based on Bills moved, contributions to Bills, motions raised and statements issued from March 2013 to November 2014.

The categories, under the banner Wanjiku’s Best Representative, are education, water, health, food, devolution, oversight (progressive legislation), budgetary oversight and youth.

- Advertisement -

The 10, who include members of the National Assembly and the Senate, are in the 2014 People’s Shujaaz Awards.


- Advertisement -

MPs Boniface Gatobu (Buuri constituency in Meru County) and Senator Boni Khalwale (Kakamega) have been nominated as the favourite leaders in the education category.

Mr Gatobu was nominated for moving a motion urging the government to establish a public databank of all bright students from low-income families.

The databank would be used when disbursing bursaries from public institutions and the Constituency Development Fund (CDF).

Dr Khalwale was nominated for his motion on equitable distribution of universities across counties.

In the health category, the nominees are Senator Wilfred Machage (Migori) and Dr James Nyikal (Seme MP).

Dr Machage was nominated for moving a motion urging the government to establish Level 5 hospitals in all 47 counties.

Dr Nyikal was nominated for his contributions on the health sector and devolution.

Ms Amina Abdalla (MP) was nominated in the water category for her contributions to the Water Bill of 2014, which seeks the separation of responsibilities between the water authorities at the national and county government levels.

Nominated Senator Beatrice Elachi was nominated as Wanjiku’s Best Representative in the food category.

Ms Elachi was nominated for her role in the Food Security Bill.

In the youth category, the nominee is Mr Chris Wamalwa (Kiminini MP).


He was nominated for seeking to have the Sh6 billion initially earmarked for a presidential runoff in the 2013 elections to be disbursed to youth and women groups across the country.

Suba MP John Mbadi was nominated for his contribution to debates on salaries, allowances and vehicles allocated to constitutional commissioners.

Mukurweini MP Kabando wa Kabando was nominated in the oversight (progressive legislation) category for proposing the reintroduction of capital gains tax that was included in the Finance Bill of 2014, among other contributions.

Tharaka-Nithi Senator Kithure Kindiki was nominated as Wanjiku’s Best Representative for devolution.

Prof Kindiki is credited with contributing to several county Bills in the Senate.

These include the County Allocation of Revenue Bill of 2013; the Community Land Bill; the Division of Revenue Bill of 2014; and the County Retirement Scheme Bill, among others.

He is also recognised for a motion urging the national government to enter into agreements with county government to transfer resources, functions and powers to them.

The online voting, which was conducted by, lasted 10 days.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles