Nasa inches closer to selecting flag bearer to take on Uhuru


Opposition leaders during their grand meeting with aspirants from across the country at Bomas of Kenya in Nairobi, January 11, 2017. /DENNIS KAVISU

The National Super Alliance has settled on the framework it will use to select its flag bearer in the August 8 general election.

A team led by Siaya Senator James Orengo said the agreement will be signed in a ceremony on Wednesday after the leaders read and accept it.

Orengo spoke on Tuesday after a meeting with the team at Serena Hotel in Nairobi.

The coalition’s coordinating committee was unveiled in January and hit the ground running to spearhead the search for its presidential candidate.

Nasa leaders Raila Odinga (ODM), Kalonzo Musyoka (Wiper), Musalia Mudavadi (ANC) and Moses Wetang’ula (Ford Kenya) said the team will also select a running mate for the presidential candidate.

The general election could well be a rematch between President Uhuru Kenyatta and Raila, despite much talk and deliberate suspense about another joint opposition flag bearer.

The Star established in January that the Cord leader has quietly put together a presidential campaign team headed by university don Dr Adams Oloo.

None of the other Cord co-principals has a full-fledged presidential secretariat.

Bungoma Governor Kenneth Lusaka earlier said the presidential poll will be a two-horse race between Nasa and Jubilee.

The county boss said on Monday that the rest of the competitors “are merely donkeys that are escorting others”.

“We will have two horses…those lying to you that they will win the presidency are fantasising,” Lusaka said.

“Any leader claiming he is going to State House through a party other than Nasa and Jubilee is lying to Wananchi.”

Nasa’s coordinating committee is made up of 12 members drawn from ODM, Wiper, Amani National Congress and Ford Kenya, which are the affiliate parties.

Others in the team are Senators Boni Khalwale (Kakamega, Ford Kenya) and Agnes Zani (Nominated, ODM), and MPs Chris Wamalwa (Kiminini, Ford Kenya) and Timothy Bosire (Kitutu Masaba, ODM).

The committee is also expected to develop terms of reference for the technical and strategic team, and the criteria for selection of the membership.

It will also finish up the work plan and modalities for establishing the Nasa secretariat.


- Advertisement -

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: