Today is the deadline for Kenyans in the diaspora to register with IEBC


Kenyan voter registration. Photo/Courtesy

The IEBC is mandated by the Constitution to register all eligible Kenyans as voters, prepare, maintain and revise the register of voters.

For purposes of the upcoming elections in 2017, Kenyans living outside the country will be able to register and participate in the elections.

- Advertisement -

The Commission will conduct voter registration in Bujumbura in Burundi, Arusha and Dar es Salaam in Tanzania, Kigali in Rwanda, Kampala in Uganda and Pretoria in South Africa.

The voter registration for Kenyan citizens residing in the 5 countries mentioned above ends today 6th March 2017.

In order to register as a voter, one must:

1. Be a Kenyan citizen,

2. Be 18 years of age and above,

3. Have a valid Kenyan passport

4. Be of sound mind.

5. Not have been convicted of an election offence during the preceding five years

If you’re in the diaspora and you live in these countries, be sure to register. It’s an opportunity not to be missed.


Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: