Raila has no running mate, Kalonzo listed as Wiper Presidential candidate

NASA Coalition Flag bearer Raila Odinga with his deputy Kalonzo Musyoka  hold hands in Solidarity during their Rally at Uhuru Park on April 27, 2017. Photo/Jack Owuor

NASA’s presidential running-mate, Kalonzo Musyoka is listed as the nominee for the Presidency by the Wiper Democratic Party, the IEBC has revealed.

According to a report by IEBC released on Saturday, NASA’s presidential nominee Raila Odinga has been submitted as the ODM candidate but with no running-mate.

The report shows that out of 19 presidential hopefuls, only President Uhuru Kenyatta has submitted William Ruto as his running-mate under the Jubilee Party.

Raila was unveiled as the NASA presidential candidate on April 27 at Uhuru Park where Kalonzo was named the running mate.

Some Wiper members led by Minority Leader in the National Assembly Francis Nyenze protested the move saying Wiper had been short-changed.

They later made an about-turn after being prevailed upon by Kalonzo.

The IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati said that political parties can amend the the list which is computer generated by Sunday, May 21.

“Except for independent candidates, the list was generated by the Candidate Registration Management System (CRMS) which allowed political parties to submit their candidates on-line. The last date of submission was on May 16, 2017. Political Parties and independent candidates are encouraged to review the list and provide any clarification and correction where required,” IEBC said in the report.

The IEBC has allowed political parties to access the database and make the necessary changes, though in a limited manner, until Sunday.

“Most presidential and gubernatorial candidates are yet to submit names of their respective running mates,” IEBC said.

Parties can only edit the records or add photos of the candidates but cannot add new records or delete/replace existing records.

Presidential candidates include Dida Mohamed Abduba is Alliance for Real Change, Juma Justus Onyango for Justice and Freedom Party and Musungu Amram for Maendeleo Democratic Party.

Others include Ekuru Aukot for Thirdway Alliance Kenya and Jirongo Shakhalaga for United Democratic Partry.

Independent candidates are Peter Gichira, Michael Waweru, Joseph Nyagah, Michael Orenge, Eliud Kariara, Japhet Kaluyu and Stephen Oganga.

Others are Peter Osotsi, Nazlin Omar, David Munga and Erastus Nyamera.

The IEBC said that it has received a total of 15,082 candidates who are seeking to be on the ballot papers for the August general election.

According to an updated interim report on candidates released by the commission on Saturday, 19 candidates will be battling for presidency, 246 for governor and 349 for senator.

In the report, 327 candidates will battle for Woman MP, 2,078 candidates for Member of Parliament while 12,060 for Member of County Assembly.

Out of this, political parties have submitted 8 presidential candidates, 183 governors, 263 senators, 258 Woman Reps, 1,473 MPs and 9,142 MCAs a total of 11,330 candidates.

For Independent candidates, 11 candidates have submitted their names for presidential seat, 63 governors, 86 senators, 69 Woman Reps, 605 Mps and 2,918 MCAs a total of 3,752 candidates.

Jubilee Party has the largest number of candidates at 1,801 followed by ODM with 1,289 candidates and Maendeleo chap chap is third with 911 candidates.

Kanu follows with 695 candidates, Mudavadi’s ANC has 639 while Kalonzo Musyoka’s Wiper follows with 632 candidates.

Forum for Restoration of Democracy – Kenya has 631 candidates, CCM has 372, PNU has 344 candidates and DP has 264 candidates.

In terms of county representation, Nairobi leads with the highest number of candidates at 439, followed by Kiambu with 223 and Nakuru is third with 193 candidates.

Meru, Bungoma and Kamega counties have 169, 165 and 145 candidates respectively while Nyeri has 145 followed by Kisii with 143, Murang’a with 127 and Trans Nzoia with 114 candidates.

Chebukati said following a dispute over Chama cha Uzalendo list, the commission has excluded the same from the interim report till further notice.

Source link-the-star.co.ke

- Advertisement -

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: