IEBC: All eight presidential candidate will be on ballot

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has said repeat presidential election will continue as planned on October 26 and all eight candidates who participated in August 8 poll will be included in the ballot.

The decision came after High Court Justice Mativo delivered a verdict that all candidates who participated as candidates in the General Election held on the 8th August 2017 were entitled to participate as candidates in the fresh Presidential Election.

In a press statement issued on Wednesday, the Commission noted that it cannot compel a candidate to participate in an election. The law allows a candidate to withdraw his/her candidature by delivering to the Commission a duly filled Form 24A.

This Form is provided for by the Elections (General) Regulations. National Super Alliance (NASA) leader Raila Odinga and his running mate Kalonzo Musyoka had sent a letter to IEBC on Tuesday (October 10) indicating that they had decided to withdraw from the fresh Presidential Election.

According to IEBC, by Wednesday evening,Raila Odinga was yet to submit Form 24A supporting his decision to withdraw from the fresh presidential election as required by law. “They however have not submitted the statutory Form 24A. Once the Commission receives the requisite Notice from any of the candidates, it will process the same in accordance with the requisite provision of the Law,” read the IEBC statement. IEBC appealed for calm and dialogue among all players to ensure that elections are successfully held and for the country to move forward.


- Advertisement -

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: