Jubilee rewards election losers with EALA slots

Jubilee Party has given 15 names of candidates for its five slots at the East African Legislative Assembly.

Majority leaders Aden Duale and Kipchumba Murkomen (Senate, Elgeyo Marakwet) presented the list to the National Assembly on Thursday.

Former MPs Wanjiku Muhia (Nyandarua), Mpuru Aburi (Tigania East) and Simon Mbugua (Kamukunji) are among the candidates.

Duale said President Uhuru Kenyatta’s party jointly considered gender and regional balance.

“I wish to convey our final decision…we have five slots and are submitting fifteen members,” said the Garissa Town MP.

Others in the list are former National Assembly clerk Justin Bundi, former CIC boss Charles Nyachae and Bishop Jackson Kosgei from Baringo.

The rest are Florence Sergon (Baringo), Irene Cherop (Elgeyo Marakwet), Elizabeth Wangui (Nyeri), Julie Njeri (Nyandarua), Joe Muriithi (Nyeri), Dorice Donya (Kisii) and Eunice Wanjiru (Trans Nzoia) and former MPs Abdulaziz Ali and Adan Mohamed from Mandera.

Parliament clerks Michael Sialai (National Assembly) and Jeremiah Nyengenye (Senate) received the list.

- Advertisement -

“We are satisfied with the list but we will, henceforth, conduct scrutiny on individual candidates to check whether they meet ideal requirements,” said Nyengenye.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: