6 MPs Storm Out of Meeting With Interior CS Fred Matiang’i


Matiangi says NTV, KTN and Citizen TV to remain off airSix legislators from Meru County, on Saturday, walked out of a consultative meeting that was to be presided over by Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i.

They had already arrived at the county commissioner’s residence where the meeting was to be held.

Standard reports that the MPs learnt of a last-minute change to the CS’s programme that didn’t sit well with them.

President Uhuru Kenyatta consults with Interior CS Fred Matiang’i

According to the publication, the schedule had been changed to include the presentation of Affirmative Action Fund cheques to some women groups.

When they got wind of this, the six MPs decided to storm out of the meeting.

The six were; Senator Mithika Linturi and MPs Kathuri Murungi (South Imenti), Rahim Dawood (North Imenti), Maoka Maore (Igembe North), John Paul Mwirigi (Igembe South) and Josephat Gichunge (Tigania East).

However, Linturi later explained that they left because the meeting did not start on time.

“We have been waiting here for three hours without any word on when the consultation is to start and decided to move on with our other programmes of the day,” he stated.

The MPs’ actions have elicited from netizens. While some supported them, others criticized them for being defiant.

DP William Ruto with Rahim Dawood and other MPs from Meru


Source kenyans.co.ke

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: