Raila, Uhuru parties top in Nominated candidates count

The Orange Democratic Movement and The National Alliance emerged as the big two as the electoral commission released lists of nominated candidates for the March 4 General Election.

ODM, led by Prime Minister Raila Odinga, has nominated candidates for governor in 31 out of the 47 counties. It has fielded 35 for senate seats and 29 for women’s representatives.

In the parliamentary races, it is fielding in 243 of the 290 constituencies. The party has avoided areas dominated by rival parties such as Eastern and Central provinces.

The Cord alliance bringing together ODM, Vice-President Kalonzo Musyoka’s Wiper and Foreign Minister Moses Wetangula’s Ford Kenya has fielded 52 candidates for governors, 58 for Senate and 452 for parliamentary positions. The excess numbers reflect where parties within the alliance are competing for the same seat.

Mr Uhuru Kenyatta’s TNA is fielding candidates for senator and governor in 30 out of the 47 counties. Of the party’s 221 parliamentary candidates, 26 are outgoing MPs.

Some 33 candidates have been cleared to run for the positions of women’s representatives.

In third place is Mr William Ruto’s URP, an ally of TNA in the Jubilee alliance, which has fielded 23 candidates for governor, 24 for senator and 109 parliamentary candidates.

In total, Jubilee Alliance has fielded 53 for governor, 54 for senators and 330 for MPs.

Mr Musalia Mudavadi’s UDF has 10 in the governor race, six in senate and 126 for Parliament.

His Amani Alliance has 23 candidates in the governor race, 39 in senate and 301 for parliamentary positions.

ODM is contesting governor posts in the counties in Nyanza, Western and the Coast regions, with lesser representation in Rift Valley and Eastern.

The party has also presented several candidates in Mt Kenya region, mainly in Meru county.

The list of candidates also showed where the epic political battles will be fought mainly for the positions of governor, senate, county women’s representatives and Members of Parliament.

This came as presidential candidates presented their nominations to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission which also received lists of people who will be nominated by political parties for special seats.

Mr Odinga, the Cord presidential candidate who is away at the Davos conference, was represented by coalition members led by Lands minister James Orengo while Mr Kenyatta (Jubilee), Mr Mudavadi (Amani), Narc Kenya’s Martha Karua, assistant minister Peter Kenneth (Eagle), Prof James ole Kiyiapi (Restore and Build Kenya) and Mr Chris Matata Musyoka (Party of Democratic Unity) presented their signatures.

Presidential candidate are required to collect 2,000 signatures of their supporters from at least 24 counties across the country before presenting nomination papers.

In Nyanza, the ODM stronghold where nominations were rocked by controversy, some candidates ditched the party for WDP, Tip, Ford Kenya and Federal Party of Kenya in what is likely to pose a major political battle in the region.

In Mandera Central and Mandera South, ODM has no ward representatives though Mohammed Adan Dube and Amina Gedova Hassan were cleared to fly its flag in MP race.

TNA has fielded candidates in Coast and Nyanza provinces. Counties in Nyanza province where the party has fielded aspirants include Kisumu, Siaya, Homa Bay, Migori, Kisii and Nyamira.

It has, however, not fielded candidates in the North and South Rift which are perceived to be the strongholds of its coalition partner, URP.

It has also shunned Western Province, only fielding one candidate to contest the Bungoma governor and another to contest the Kakamega senate seat.

UDF has candidates mainly in Western region, Rift Valley, North Eastern Province, Meru, Kisii and Nyamira counties. The party has fielded 14 candidates to vie for women’s representative and 126 contenders for parliamentary seats.

Notable candidates for senate posts include former Cabinet minister Mukhisa Kituyi (Bungoma), former ambassador Stephen Tarus (Nandi), assistant minister George Khaniri (Vihiga) and outgoing Ikolomani MP Boni Khalwale (Kakamega).

Among the party candidates for the positions of governor are former National Bank boss Reuben Marambii (Meru), former PCEA moderator David Githii (Kiambu) and former MP Simeon Mkalla (Kwale).

Mr Kenneth’s KNC has fielded 15 candidates for governor position, senator (13), women’s representative (16) and MP (113).

Ms Karua’s Narc Kenya has sponsored seven candidates to vie for governor position, senator (nine), women’s representative (15) and MPs (75).

The Alliance Party of Kenya of Energy minister Kiraitu Murungi has seven candidates fighting for governorship, senator (six), women’s representative (four) and MP (40).

GNU of assistant minister Mwangi Kiunjuri has field six candidates for governor, senator (five), women’s representative (nine) and MP (51).

Justice minister Eugene Wamalwa’s New Ford Kenya has entered four contestants in the race for governor, senator (three), county women’s representative (four) and MP (28).

Prof Kiyiapi’s RBK has presented two candidates to contest as governors, senator (seven), women’s representative (three) and MP (15).

Safina led by former Kabete MP Paul Muite has sponsored four candidates to contest as governors, senator (nine), women’s representative (10) and MPs (52) while Mr Raphael Tuju’s Party of Action has cleared one candidate for governor, senator (one), and MP (nine).

Among the big names nominated to run for posts of governor are Mr Ferdinand Waititu (Nairobi), Mr William Kabogo (Kiambu), Mr Danson Mungatana (Tana River) and Dr Kilemi Mwiria (Meru).

Those running for the senate seat include Prof Sam Ongeri (Kisii), Mr Ephraim Maina (Nyeri), Mr Gidion Mbuvi (Nairobi) and Mr Yusuf Haji (Garissa).


Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.