Kidero quits ODM party Vice-Chair’s race


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

NAIROBI, KENYA: Nairobi Governor Dr Evans Kidero has quit from the race to be the Orange Democratic Movement ( ODM) party Vice Chairman.

Announcing his withdrawal, the governor said, “I am quitting to give young party members an opportunity to lead and help rebuild our party.”  He added, “But I am still loyal to the party and will continue supporting it morally, socially and financially.”  Kidero becomes the fourth leader from Nyanza to withdraw their candidature for various national party positions in the coming ODM elections.

Rongo MP Dalmas Otieno, Suba MP John Mbadi and Kisumu Central MP Ken Obura withdrew from the elections scheduled for February 28.  In a press release sent to media houses, Mr Otieno said, “Due the wishes of the party leadership, I wish to inform Kenyans that I will not take part in the ODM elections but will serve in the Cord management board together with Kitui Senator David Musila.” Mbadi, who was vying for the secretary general’s position also quit.

“The information in the media made Kenyans have a negative attitude to the Luo aspirants and I therefore feel that my candidature has been compromised by the wrong perception,” Mbadi said.  Obura said that he had agreed to withdraw his bid because of party interests. “I have been approached and talked to and after wide consultations and soul-searching, I have decided to step down because the party is bigger than any one of us,” Obura said.

The Luo Nyanza leaders had maintained that the powerful secretary general’s position be retained in Nyanza because it is the bedrock for the party’s support.   But former Prime Minister Raila Odinga who is vying for the party leader’s position is said to have told the leaders to give up their quest for the positions.

ODM Young Turks who have been calling for re-organisation of the party include Sylvance Osele (Kasipul Kabondo), David Ochieng’ (Ugunja) and Kenneth Okoth (Kibra), Ken Obura (Kisumu Central), John Mbadi (Suba) and Augustine Neto (Ndhiwa).

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More