Photos:Uhuru Awards 15th IAAF World Champions,Orders Allowance Payment Dating Back to 2013


Uhuru awards athletesKENYA: President Uhuru Kenyatta Saturday hosted the victorious Beijing World and Cali Junior championships teams for breakfast at State House, Nairobi.

The two teams represented Kenya at the recent 15th IAAF World Championships in Beijing, China, and IAAF World Youth Championships in Cali, Colombia.

Kenyatta directed the Sports ministry to pay the Sh60 million outstanding allowances going back to 2013.
“I want the athletes and their officials to come here on Thursday next week and inform me whether their allowances have been paid,” the President said.

As a sign of appreciation to the triumphant athletes, President Kenyatta announced the Government’s cash prizes of Sh1 million for gold medalists, Sh500,000 for silver and Sh250,000 for bronze.

In addition, the President said the two teams will also take home Sh5 million each.

“All members of the teams played a role in bringing glory to the country and should be appreciated. For the medalists, your win is the win for the team, the country and all Kenyans,” President Kenyatta said.

The Beijing team beat the world’s sporting giants Jamaica, the US, defending champions Russia and China to top the medal table with seven gold, six silver and three bronze medals at the World Athletics Championships in Beijing last August.

Among the gold medal winners was Javelin sensation Julius Yego, who made history by winning the country its first major field event at the World Championships with a world record throw of 92.72m.

Also present was Olympic and world 3000m Steeplechase champion Ezekiel Kemboi, popularly known as “Baba Yao” in sports. He has won the steeplechase in the World Championships four times since 2009.

Kemboi, who is the team captain, said he is preparing for the Olympic Games in Rio De Janeiro in Brazil next year.
“Only then, can I consider retirement,’’ he said at the breakfast meeting.

Other champions were Nicholas Bett, who gave Kenya its maiden 400m hurdles world title, David Rudisha who won the 800m race and Hyvin Jepkemoi who won 3,000m steeplechase women.

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: