Mung’aro removed from Coast Parliamentary Group leadership


Gideon MungaroKilifi North MP Gideon Mung’aro was yesterday ousted from chairing the interim Coast Parliamentary Group.

The team is composed of 33 legislators drawn from six counties.

Mung’aro, who ditched Cord for Jubilee, was replaced by Gunga Mwinga (Kaloleni) during the caucus’ election conducted at the Parliament Buildings.

Mwinga (Kadu Asili) was elected unanimously by 19 members present at the elections.

“We have been elected not because we are best than others, but to ensure Coast MPs are united,” Mwinga said.

He said the new officials and the caucus will ensure issues touching on the Coast benefit residents.

Abdulswamad Nassir (Mvita) said the caucus has many pressing issues to be tackled.

“It should not be cooked up or misinterpreted as punishment to former interim officials who have defied their coalition’s political ideologies,” he said.

Jones Mlolwa (Taita) is the new secretary general replacing Khatib Mwashetani (Lungalunga).

Shakilla Abdallah (Lamu) is the new vice chair, Mishi Mboko (Mombasa) the new deputy secretary general, Zuleikha Hassan (nominated) treasurer, Abdulswamad Shariff (Mvita) the organizing secretary and his deputy Suleiman Dori (Msambweni), Aisha Jumwa (Kilifi) the Whip, while National Assembly Deputy Minority Whip, Thomas Mwadeghu, Halima Ware (Tana River) and Hassan Mwanyoha (Matuga) are the caucus’s senior advisors.

- Advertisement -

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: