Raila replaces ex-Secretary General Ababu Namwamba with Edwin Sifuna

ODM has appointed Edwin Sifuna the Secretary General succeeding Ababu Namwamba who resigned in July 2016.

The party led by Nasa chief Raila Odinga announced leadership roles during its delegates meeting at Orange House in Nairobi on Friday.

Namwamba was Budalang’i MP from 2013 to 2017.  He quit his SG post citing harassment and disrespect despite his efforts to market the party under the opposition’s Cord coalition.

He resigned as Labour Party of Kenya (LPK) leader following his appointment as Foreign Affairs chief administrative secretary.

Governors Hassan Joho (Mombasa) and Wycliffe Oparanya will serve as deputy leaders while National Assembly Minority Leader John Mbadi (Suba South) will remain the national chairman.

Turkana Governor Josphat Nanok, who is Council of Governors chairman, was appointed deputy national chairman.


Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: