Governor, MPs ditch ODM, KANU for Jubilee


Four leaders from West Pokot have defected from KANU and ODM and joined the newly formed Jubilee Alliance Party.

The leaders; West Pokot Governor Simon Kachapin, Kapenguria MP Samuel Moroto, KANU bigwig John Lodinyo and ODM point man Rev. Julius Murgor.

The defectors were received by the chairman of Pokot Members of Parliament David Pkosing on Friday during the homecoming of former Kapenguria MP Julius Murgor, who served for a five-year term between 2007 – 2013, held at Makutano primary school.

“We want to ensure this region is a Jubilee zone. These are preparations to ensure that this region votes overwhelmingly for the President and his deputy,” said Pkosing.

The leaders said they will support Murgor in his quest for Senatorial post and Kachapin as he seeks to defend his gubernatorial seat.

Pkosing, who is also the Pokot South MP, said that the past governments neglected the county despite it being a marginalized one.

“This is the way to go. For the past three years, we have been in the government and achieved a lot and that’s why we shall always support the government.”

Murgor challenged political leaders from the county who are still members of the opposition to consider shifting their allegiance to Jubilee.

“This is a democratic country and we should not stick to parties that oppress us,” said Murgor.

This comes as the President is expected to visit the region Saturday to officially receive the defectors.

Area Senator, Prof. John Lonyangapuo, who was elected on a KANU ticket, is the only leader in the region who has remained loyal to his party.

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: