VIDEO: MP Oscar Sudi responds to ‘best and worst performing MPs’ story


VIDEO: MP Oscar Sudi responds to ‘best and worst performing MPs’ story

A new report released by Mzalendo Trust has ranked legislators based on their contributions on the floor of the House, with a few performing very dismally.

The report which focused on the period between September 2017 and December 2018, found that, 45 MPs made less than 10 contributions in the plenary. Some of the MPs are hardly seen, that parliament guards mistake them for strangers.

The “silent” MPs are Justus Kizito (ODM, Shinyalu), Oscar Sudi (Jubilee, Kapsaret) James Wamacukuru (Jubilee, Kabete), Alfred Sambu (ANC, Webuye East), Joshua Adama (ODM, Nyakach), Samuel Arama (Jubilee, Nakuru West), Alex Kosgey (Jubilee, Emgwen) and Charles Kamuren (Jubilee, Baringo South). However, Mr Kamuren came late into Parliament after he was elected in a by-election conducted on August 2018.

MP Oscar Sudi responds

Five Woman Representatives have also never uttered a word on the floor of the House. These are Anab Mohamed (Garissa), Lilian Tomitom (West Pokot), Irene Kasalu (Kitui), Jane Wanjuki (Embu) and Jane Chebaibai (Elgeyo Marakwet).

“Some of these silent MPs in the House are the most vocal politicians outside,” Caroline Gaita, the Executive Director for Mzalendo Trust, told the Sunday Nation.

An analysis of the data according to counties shows that representatives from Embu, Lamu, Nyamira, Isiolo and Bomet cumulatively spoke the least while on the other hand, MPs from Trans Nzoia, Nairobi, Kisumu and Kakamega counties topped the list of the most active in parliamentary sessions.

The best performing MPs per county are Ndindi Nyoro (Murang’a), Sophia Noor (Garissa), Sara Korere (Laikipia), Omboko Milemba (Vihiga), Millie Odhiambo (Homa Bay), Kimani Ichung’wa (Kiambu), Joseph Limo (Kericho), Robert Pukose ( Trans Nzoia), David Gikaria (Nakuru), James Nyikal (Kisumu), Eric Muchangi (Embu), TJ Kajwang (Nairobi), Emmanuel Wangwe (Kakamega), William Cheptumo (Baringo) and Didmus Barasa (Bungoma).

Others are Robert Mbui (Machakos), Cyprian Iringo (Meru), Opiyo Wandayi (Ugunja), Josphat Wachira (Kirinyaga), Jimmy Angwenyi (Kisii), Kanini Kega (Nyeri), Owen Baya (Kilifi), Ali Wario (Tana River), Khatib Mwashetani (Kwale), Gitonga Murugara (Tharaka Nithi), Hassan Oda (Isiolo) and Chachu Ganya (Marsabit).

There is also Lodepe Nakara (Turkana), Naomi Shaban (Taita Taveta), Katoo Ole-Metito (Kajiado), Julius Melly (Nandi), Ahmed Ibrahim (Wajir), Abdulswamad Nassir (Mombasa), Kiprotich Tonui (Bomet), Musa Lentoimanga (Samburu), Moitalel ole Kenta (Narok), Swarup Mishra (Uasin Gishu), Vincent Kemosi (Nyamira) and Shariff Athman (Lamu).

The list goes on with David Pkosing (West Pokot), Junet Mohamed (Migori), Benson Makali (Kitui), William Kisang (Elgeyo Marakwet), Wilberforce Oundo (Busia), Daniel Maanzo (Makueni) and Adan Haji (Mandera) and Amos Kimunya (Nyandarua).

Nairobi Senator Johnson Sakaja was rated as the top contributor in the Senate.

Ms Gaita says that in the ranking of the MPs, legislators who serve in various House leadership roles were excluded as they get more chances to speak courtesy of their roles.

Among them are Majority Leader Aden Duale, Leader of Minority John Mbadi, Minority Whip Junet Mohamed, Majority Whip Benjamin Washiali and Majority Deputy Whip Cecily Mbarire.

In the national assembly, members of the Speaker’s panel include Deputy Speaker Moses Cheboi, Luanda MP Christopher Omulele, Laikipia West MP Patrick Kariuki, Narok MP Soipan Tuya and Kibwezi East MP Jesca Mbalu.

In the Senate they are; Leader of Majority Kipchumba Murkomen, Leader of Minority James Orengo, Minority Whip Mutula Kilonzo Junior, Majority Whip Susan Kihika, Deputy Majority Whip Irungu Kang’ata and Deputy Minority Whip Beatrice Kwamboka.

Other senators who get higher chances to contribute because of their positions include those who sit in the Speaker’s panel namely Rose Nyamunga, Kithure Kindiki, Judy Pareno and Steve Lelegwe.

However, some of those in various House leadership positions helped to articulate a variety of issues that went beyond the duties that they hold.

Top Senate contributors include Mutula Kilonzo Junior, Ms Kwamboka and Mr Kang’ata.

In the national assembly, some of the most vocal House leaders include Ms Mbarire, Mr Mbadi and Junet Mohamed.

In the senate, Nairobi Senator Johnson Sakaja was rated as the top contributor followed by Moses Wetang’ula (Bungoma), Ledama Olekina (Narok), Samson Cherargei (Nandi), Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho), Ephraim Maina (Nyeri), Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay), Fatuma Dullo (Isiolo), Cleophas Malala (Kakamega) and Kitui’s Enoch Wambua.

On the other hand,the best performing nominated senators are Abshiro Halake (Kanu), Mary Seneta (Jubilee), Getrude Musuruve (ODM), Farhiya Ali (Jubilee), Agnes Zani (ODM), Isaac Mwaura (Jubilee), Naomi Waqo (Jubilee), Naomi Shiyonga (ODM), Alice Chepkorir (Jubilee) and ANC’s Petronila Were.

National Assembly Majority Leader Aden Duale had a message to the silent MPs “It is so sad that some MPs have never made attempts to speak in the House. They should know that they were elected or nominated to represent their constituents and push for their interests in parliament.”he remarked.

National Assembly Majority Leader,Adan Duale. He admonished the legislators who did not contribute to matters being discussed in the parliament.

Video by

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: