Former MP Muturi is National Assembly Speaker

Former Siakago MP Justin Muturi has taken the oath of office after he was elected Speaker of the National Assembly.

Mr Muturi got 219 votes to defeat former Speaker Kenneth Marende who managed 129 votes.

There was one spoiled vote after the second round of voting by the 349 members of the National Assembly.

Mr Muturi was fronted by the Jubilee coalition while Mr Marende had the backing of the Coalition for Reforms and Democracy.

“As your Speaker, I will fervently preserve the powers, privileges and immunities of this House, without which, optimal performance would be greatly compromised,” said Mr Muturi in his acceptance speech.

“I also purpose to defend and uphold the dignity of this House and to enforce, uncompromised adherence to the Constitution, our laws and the Standing Orders in the management of the business of the House,” he said.

With Mr Muturi’s election, Jubilee has now taken control of both Houses.

Its candidate Ekwee Ethuro was elected Speaker of the Senate while Kembi Gitura was elected deputy speaker.

- Advertisement -

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: