NASA unveils team of 12 to register, identify flag bearer for election


Leaders in the National Super Alliance address a joint press conference in Nairobi, January 31, 2017. /COURTESY

Opposition leaders have unveiled a 12-member team to officially register the National Super Alliance and name its presidential candidate.

The team led by Siaya Senator James Orengo will also work on the coalition’s instruments.

Amani leader Musalia Mudavadi said on Tuesday that the team will help ensure all legal requirements are met leading for the super coalition’s registration.

Leaders in the technical committee include Senators Johnson Muthama (Machakos), Boni Khalwale (Kakamega) and Agnes Zani (Nominated).

The rest are Timothy Bosire (Kitutu Masaba MP), Former National Assembly deputy speaker Farah Maalim and Ford Kenya secretary general Eseli Simiyu.

ODM leader Raila Odinga said the alliance will have candidates in every position in the August general elections, in a bid to kick out President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Jubilee administration.

“The NASA alliance is a special movement to uproot Jubilee from power and we will ensure Kenya stands high again,” said Raila.

He added that leaders in the alliance will hold their first public rally on February 4 in Bomet county, hosted by Governor Isaac Rutto.

It is expected that the Governor will formally join NASA.

“The National Super Alliance will have its presidential candidate in time to help restore hope in self governance among Kenyans,” Raila also said. “Our coalition [is all about] an alternative, accountable, responsible and responsive leadership.”

Ford Kenya party leader Moses Wetan’gula called for support from Kenyans of goodwill in preparations for the launch.

- Advertisement -

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: