Raila orders MPs to pay party dues


Raila-prime2706vODM leader Raila Odinga has warned 33 party MPs to pay millions of shillings in monthly subscriptions or face severe sanctions.

The Members of the National Assembly and Senate, including Mr Odinga’s elder brother, Dr Oburu Oginga (nominated), owe the party Sh8.2 million in overdue monthly contributions.

The names of the 33 MPs and Senators who owe the party at least Sh240,000 each in unpaid monthly contributions were read out during the party’s Parliamentary Group meeting held at the Orange House last Thursday.

Kisumu Town East MP Shakeel Shabbir, who had been tasked by the PG with compiling the list of all MPS, Senators and Woman Representatives, and the status of their contributions, said the 33 had not remitted a cent to the party’s coffers since their election or nomination to Parliament and Senate last year.

“We are shocked that some of these people posture for big positions in the party, yet they do not make contributions like some of us. Why is Dr Oburu Oginga not paying?” Mr Shabir wondered.


Dr Oginga, a top level member of the ODM think-tank who is also vocal on internal party issues could not be immediately reached for comment.

Notable defaulters include Funyula MP Paul Otuoma, Mbita’s Millie Odhiambo and Gwassi MP John Mbadi.

Mr Odinga is said to have directed the party’s Executive Director, former Kipkelion MP Magerer Langat, to ensure all the defaulters pay up their balances or face undisclosed sanctions.

A number of the defaulters, who were present when the names were read out, were at pains to explain their failure to fulfil their obligations to the party.

“I am one of the major contributors in ODM. I have been remitting my contributions, but it could be that there is a problem with the parliamentary payroll section,” Dr Otuoma said.

“The other day I went to the ODM fundraising and donated Sh500,000. Why are they not appreciating me for that? Then they called another fundraising and I donated Sh300,000. Someone is becoming malicious here,” he said.

Busia County Woman Representative Florence Mutua, also accused of defaulting, said her payslip had been reflecting a deduction of Sh20,000 payable to ODM every month.

“They should reconcile records with the National Assembly because as far as I am concerned, my contributions are remitted,” she said.


Kasipul MP Oyugi Magwanga said the party secretariat may have misplaced the check-off forms. He said it was unfair to blame members for the mishap.

“There is a serious communication breakdown regarding this matter. Let them give me the forms so I can sign them again,” he said.

The party rules require that each MP pays Sh20,000 per month. The money is used to fund the party’s day-to-day operations and paying staff at the secretariat.

Members of the County Assemblies from the party are supposed to pay Sh5,000 per month, but it was not clear whether they meet this obligation.

Newly-appointed party whip Thomas Mwadeghu, nominated MP Isaac Mwaura, Kibra MP Ken Okoth are among the listed defaulters.

Taita Taveta Woman Representative Joyce Lay, MPs John Waluke (Sirisia), James Rege (Karachuonyo), Silverse Anami (Shinyalu) and Andrew Toboso (Butere), Senators Dan Mwazo (Taita Taveta), Stewart Madzayo (Kilifi), and Wilfred Machage (Migori) are also listed as defaulters.

Other leaders listed are Mpuru Aburi, Joseph Lekuton, James Gesami, Mong’are Geni, Abdirahman Hassan, Chachu Ganya, Hassan Mwanyoha, Ibrahim Abdi, Nasra Ibrahim, Richard Onyonka, Ramadhan Dori and William Kamoti Mwamkale.


ODM party leader Raila Odinga (Right) with  his older brother Oburu Odinga during a past function. The Members of the National Assembly and Senate, including Oburu Oginga (nominated), owe the party Sh8.2 million in overdue monthly contributions.  FILE PHOTO |

Comment on the article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More